Tags

,

I’ve always loved February. Mostly because after a long, cold, and boring month of post-holiday blues, I have something to look forward to: turning another year older. For some reason, my group of D.C. friends has become saturated with fellow Aquarians. I had two birthday parties in a row last week, and four (including mine) this week. My plan was to keep it low key until I had at least one or two parties under my belt, but that plan was blown out of the water by unanticipated karaoke shenanigans.

This was the second time I’ve been to karaoke in the past two weeks, as one of last week’s birthday’s took me to a live band karaoke night. One might assume that since I work in theatre, my musical theatre friends were the ones responsible, but in fact that’s not the case. These were my somewhat “normal” friends, which brings me to the conclusion that people in D.C. freakin’ love karaoke, and makes me wonder is that the case everywhere these days? I don’t remember it being such a thing when I was in my 20s. Have shows like Glee and American Idol brought us back to singing? I seriously hope so, because watching friends throw themselves onstage and sing their hearts out is almost as wonderful as doing it yourself.

This week’s karaoke was particularly delightful since we were just about the only people in Millie & Al’s bar in Adam’s Morgan. Adam’s Morgan, for those of you not familiar, is the place where young people go when they want to get hammered and dance in seedy clubs, or buy a hookah at 3:00 in the morning. Millie & Al’s had an animatronic Grim Reaper skeleton that would light up and dance around periodically, indicating that dollar jello shots were available, to which our group would promptly respond by ordering a couple dozen and an additional pitcher or two of beer.  My gripes about my early morning and my pathetic attempts to refuse drinks were quickly wiped away by friends saying, “Yeah, but it’s your birthday!” Yikes. It’s not even the weekend. Let the bonanza begin!

