Tags

, , ,

For the past two weekends, we’ve been flying kites.

just a boy and his kite

To be more precise, my husband and son have been flying the kite my son at first referred to as “Nippy” (it is in fact a “Zippy” kite with a dragonfly picture). The baby and I have watched because it’s not generally advisable to run with a baby strapped to you, even for the worthy goal of getting a kite up into the air.

first a slow walk…

…then the kite soars!

Being outside so much has reminded me that this is the time of year when I love Boston’s weather. The air is turning crisp, the leaves are beginning their metamorphosis, and people (like us) make the most of the windy days and start putting out pumpkins and scarecrows.

Jack the scarecrow gets a lot of kisses from my adorable one-year-old neighbor.

I think this is the only time of year when New England definitely has an advantage over other areas of the U.S. It’s a place that was made for fall weather, and when you’re suffering through some of the broiling summer days, it helps to remember that soon enough, you’ll be eating apple cider donuts and examining this year’s crop of “sexy” Halloween costumes. (I myself plan to dress as sexy Chucky – feel free to borrow my idea if you’d like. You’re welcome.) Anyway, live it up, because once winter digs in its heels, it’s all downhill until late spring.

If you happen to find yourself here in the fall, try some apple picking at one of the many farms nearby, hang around outside and enjoy the pretty trees, or check out a fall festival. My vote’s for the one where you can watch a wife-carrying competition because nothing says fall like slinging a woman over your shoulder and running for the finish line.

