Tags

, , , , , ,

Here’s the thing: I am really tired. It’s been an exhausting week for work- and Halloween-related reasons. To paraphrase Homer Simpson: “Sugar, the cause of and solution to all of life’s little problems.” That is what it felt like at my house this week.

So I’m just going to talk a little bit about Somerville in this blog post because I’m feeling nostalgic for my former neighborhood, and also because there is this event called Beardfest 2012 happening in two days that I wish I could go to. You should go instead, and maybe participate in one of the contests, even if you’re a lady and you have to draw on a greasepaint moustache like Groucho Marx. There is a fake beard category just for you! And if you don’t feel like making your fake beard at home because that is too much work, there is going to be a make-your-own beard table there! So you can be lazy and still maybe win a prize.

Beardfest pretty much sums up why I love Somerville: it has whimsy. Yes, it has hipsters, too, but so what? Doesn’t everywhere have hipsters now? And by everywhere, I mean even middle America. I’m pretty sure there’s at least one hipster living in Kansas someplace.

Here’s a list of awesome things about Somerville:

  • The Somerville Theatre in Davis Square. Once I watched “Tenacious D and the Pick of Destiny” there while drinking a beer, and not one I smuggled in either, one that they sold to me. Of course, this is not the only reason they’re cool. They also have one branch of the Museum of Bad Art.
  • Tu y Yo. Do you have a yen for fried grasshoppers? Then this Mexican restaurant is the place for you! (Disclaimer: I have never had their grasshoppers because they were never in season when I went. But their other food is awesome, so I bet the grasshoppers are, too.)
  • ArtBeat. I did go to this this past summer, and it was fun, despite the fact that we missed the parade and I didn’t really get the Migration theme. Maybe that’s because we were too busy eating to pay attention to amorphous things like theme.
  • Candlewick Press. They are a great children’s book publisher with a cute logo. I wish they were hiring for something I was qualified to do! But they never are, at least not when I’m job hunting.

I had such fun when I lived here that I didn’t want to leave, and sometimes, despite the cramped backyards, lack of parking, and all the students (who make me feel old because they all look like they’re twelve instead of twenty), I still miss it.

Anyway, now I’m off to refuel with a little Halloween sugar and try to do something productive before the high wears off. Wish me luck, and if you do go to Beardfest, I hope you win best freestyle partial beard!

