Tags

, ,

The last few cookies are being eaten and 2012 is winding down. Snow has fallen in Boston, and A. is happy since Santa brought him a steel saucer sled. I was less than enthused to find A. in the kitchen yesterday morning greasing the bottom of the sled with vegetable oil. I kind of wished Santa had sprung for a crash helmet as well. Visions of Chevy Chase in Christmas Vacation danced through my head.

That being said, this is also the time of year for unrealistic resolutions. Like “I will not eat sugar anymore” (yep…good luck with that), “I will work out five days a week” (again, good luck), and my personal favorite, “eat less” (yeahhhh….eat less what? Food? Small children?).

As you can surmise, I am not a fan of the New Year’s Resolution – I find it makes people insufferable for the most part. That is great that this is the year you have finally decided to quit smoking – good for you! I don’t smoke, but you don’t hear me lamenting about it so shut it already. As for the gym, at least for the month of January and a good chunk of February, it is so packed that I need to play nice so I can get on the treadmill before I lodge my sneaker in my eyeball.

But I like the idea of new beginnings – starting fresh and wiping last year’s cookie dust off my shirt and eating some more kale. (Can I make cookies out of kale? SYNERGY!) So with that, I tip my hat to 2012 and welcome 2013 with a dry martini and an even drier wit.

