Tags

, ,

In a little over a week I will be hitting my mid-thirties. This for some reason scares the bejesus out of me. When I was a kid, I thought by now my friends and I would all have our shit together. We would all have 2.5 children and a white picket fence.

This is the same face I make when being faced with my birthday. Image taken from grumpycats.com

This is the same face I make when being faced with my birthday. Image taken from grumpycats.com

I have a dog and no fence. I am okay with that. As I got older, I realized that no one actually has their shit together (and if they do, well whateves, I bet they are the type of person who also irons their underwear). I think though that is part of getting older, knowing that no one actually knows what they are doing. Even those of us who have the 2.5 kids, etc.

The thing is, it took me almost the entirety of my twenties to realize that I like my life. Sure, I could use a bit more money and maybe drop a dress size or two, but A. and I are healthy. We have a happy dog. We live comfortably within our means. We can splurge every once in a while. Sometimes we even buy the fancy cheese at Whole Foods. (Hell, we shop at Whole Foods).

Is my life what I thought it would be when I hit my mid-thirties? I believe a resounding HELL NO would work. However, I like this life instead. Sure, I have yet to go to Australia and I am too old to dye my hair with Manic Panic and I own a “professional wardrobe.” But I am glad to have dyed my hair (even if it meant realizing that the gods did not make me a redhead with good reason) and have done plenty of stupid things in the name of “learning a lesson.”

So as I prepare to hit my mid-thirties, I may have a few more gray hairs and know that any cake I eat will take me twice as long at the gym to work off.  But I like cake, I don’t mind running, and I can buy hair dye (just not red). Overall I am doing pretty well. And for those of you who do have your shit together, well, whoop-de-doo for you. I hope you don’t burn a hole in your underwear with the iron.

What about you, readers? For those of you who are getting older, are there things you think you should do? Do you think you have your shit together? (The answer is probably no.)

